Government guidelines

The advice provided by the Healthy Eating Advisory Service to early childhood education and care (child care) services is consistent with the following government guidelines:

Australian Dietary Guidelines
These guidelines give advice on eating for health and wellbeing. They provide information about the types and amounts of foods, food groups and dietary patterns that promote health and wellbeing and reduce the risk of diet-related diseases. The guidelines are for use by health professionals, policy makers, educators, food manufacturers, food retailers and researchers.

Australian Guide to Healthy Eating
This guide recommends dietary patterns based on the five food groups that provide appropriate amounts of nutrients and energy. It includes practical information on the types and amounts of foods required at various ages and specific recommendations for infants, toddlers and children.

Get Up & Grow: Healthy Eating and Physical Activity for Early Childhood
These resources promote the key messages included in the healthy eating and physical activity guidelines. They are designed to be used in centre-based care, family day care and pre-school.

Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework
This framework identifies eight Practice Principles for Learning and Development, which describe the most effective ways for early childhood professionals to work together and with children and families to facilitate learning and development.

National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education and Care
The National Quality Framework (NQF) is a national system, designed to provide transparency and accountability and give children the best possible start in life. The National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the NQF and sets a national benchmark for early childhood education and care, and outside school hours care services in Australia, to ensure children enjoy the best possible conditions in developmental years.

Printer-friendly version